AHA moment

Standard

I was probably the reason for AHA moment of a teamer Ann.
It was only a small thing really, and I was not expecting her to feel so good. But she did and told me, which made me feel good also.
Actually we get some cards printed on Diwali (Indian festival of lights) for office. Every year the job is done in rush, at the last moment. So we end up giving the job to one of the many advertising agency, which charges higher rates knowing our urgency. She borught an approval note to me for doing the same this year. I told her why don’t you invite bids from all agencies. She said, it is done like this every year, and we don’t have much time. I told her, let us try it. She said the agency whose design has been selected will not agree. I called up the agency and asked, if we pay you for design as per rate card, and then invite bids from printing from all agencies, will you be okay with that. The agency agreed.
So Ann came to me with a draft note, which I corrected and asked her to send email to all agencies and invite bids within 3 hours, so that printing order can be placed to the lowest rate agency. She did, and one of the agencies quoted 1/3rd of last year’s rate. She was thrilled.
Today, she thanked me three times, and said I discussed this at home also. I was also pleased that I could contribute something. Though a friend told-she may be buttering.
God only knows.

About my2twobits

I am a 40+ male PR executive from India. I have deliberately kept my identity hidden so that I can freely, frankly open my heart and share my feelings about people I know from work and outside. Hope you enjoy the resulting emotional free-flow in my posts. I do fear and dread the day when my identity is disclosed and I may be forced to totally delete this blog, unless of course a publisher comes with an interesting offer ;)

Leave a Reply

