Millennials and workplace

Standard

 

Since I have 4 millennials in my 6-member team, I am interested in this topic. I found some interesting points in an article by Asha Bhandarker in Indian Management, which are jotted below:

Gen Y has been termed as selfish, disloyal, careerist, low commitment to organization, materialistic and money-minded.

Study by MDI, India found that millennials want

-freedom for experimentation

-opportunities to take initiatives

-encouraging idea generation and innovation

-appreciation of performance

-recognition and rewards

-fairness and transparency at workplace

-opportunity for growth and development

They are concerned about the style and behaviour of the executives they report to.

They look to work with those seniors who are humble and listening , accessible and available, empowering in approach as well as favourable.

A leader who is a good mentor and develops people by giving them valid and honest feedback.

Who is smart and clear thinker

An inspiring role model

Able to bring people together and build a team

Instead millennials have typically reported to executives who have been imposing, critical, ordering rather than guiding along with being close minded and rigid.

About my2twobits

I am a 40+ male PR executive from India. I have deliberately kept my identity hidden so that I can freely, frankly open my heart and share my feelings about people I know from work and outside. Hope you enjoy the resulting emotional free-flow in my posts. I do fear and dread the day when my identity is disclosed and I may be forced to totally delete this blog, unless of course a publisher comes with an interesting offer ;)

Leave a Reply

