Juniority

Standard

You must have heard of seniority, so here is my version of the opposite behaviour viz. juniority.

Yesterday only, a junior team member had gone to another town for some official event. I was taking feedback from him on updates from time to time. So when the function was over, after an hour or so, this guy calls me up and says function went well and all. I said, okay and asked him to call up and tell the big boss also.  He replied- I have already done that, which irritated me. I did not say anything to him but was agitated a lot after the call. My reason was that he wanted to jump to the big boss first to grab the credit, and to ensure he is the first one to give the news, and he tells his reporting boss later. In other words, maybe he feared that he tells me first, I will go on jumping to the big boss and claim credit for the news. I thought to myself that he should have known better about me that I am not that sort, I told himself to tell the boss. So his over-smartness made me angry. I tried to give him benefit of doubt in my mind thinking that since boss was also monitoring parallely so there is no harm if he told the boss first. Or maybe boss only called him and he updated. But my anger did not fade away. So I almost decided that I will call him on next working day and tell that he should report things to me first and then to boss. Though there was a fear at the back of my mind that he would pass it on to boss. Well, after some time I mulled over how I behave as a junior. I realized that I also try to give important ideas and news updates to big boss first, and to reporting boss later. And my logic is that my reporting boss is a credit-grabber (which I think I am not, but seems people like this junior perceive me otherwise) and would ignore my contribution while mentioning this to big boss. So I revisited my earlier decision of telling this junior, and decided that I will instead change my attitude and let the juniors tell big boss first if they want to, and instead of saying-Tell big boss, I will just check-Hope you have told big boss. That way I will be able to cross-check if I need to tell the boss or tell the junior to intimate if he has not done already. Secondly, I will not get upset if junior replies-Yes, I have told already.

Second example of juniority also happened yesterday. Actually some very urgent time-bound job is going on and we have to work on three weekend holidays. Inspite of being the senior, I decided to be cooperative and asked my junior, what days would you prefer to come, and she replied- If I have to come, I don’t mind any day, and her tone was very edgy. Well, I was upset again. She is the person who has not been given any other major work, because she is engaged in this urgent job. She has not been asked to come on all three days as a junior. She is being given choice. But she still dares to get angry. Earlier last week also, when I had asked her to go to agency to supervise the ongoing job, she was reluctant saying we don’t have to do much, creative designer has to do it. Then I explained to her, how in an advertising agency designers work as a part of the pool and different client service executives try to get their work done first. So if a client is sitting on their head, the job gets done faster because designer can work on client’s job without being disturbed. If we are not there, and our client service executive is asked to spare the designer for a few hours, he can’t say no, because he has to work with those people daily, and has to ask for such help for himself at times. However, if a client is sitting there, they can’t do much about it. I saw it happening myself even yesterday also, when I went to the agency for supervision. She was not very convinced but went as if to oblige me. Now I feel like my politeness and softness is being taken for granted. And idiot me, I have decided to punish myself on these three days by not calling her at all. I know it will have no impact on her, she will rather enjoy and expect I do it every time.  Wify asked this morning why you are doing it all alone on holidays, no one else in your team. I did not tell her the whole story and gave bullshit that I have to go to office aniways for other jobs, so I will do it as well.  And I have this philosophy that if work has to be done on holidays there is no need for calling 2-3 people, when 1 person can do the job. So either I suffer, or a junior, family-time wise. That is why I gave her the choice but she acted pricey.

So that is juniority for you.

Leave a Reply

