Living in present by Dale Carnegie

Standard

I had the privilege of interviewing Arthur Hays Sulzberger (1935-1961), publisher of NYT. He told that when 2nd World War flamed across Europe, he was so stunned, so worried about the future, that he found it almost impossible to sleep. He was never able to banish his worries and find peace until he had adopted as his motto 5 words from a church hymn: One step enough for me.

Lead, kindly light…

Keep thou my feet: I do not ask to see

The distant scene; one step enough for me.

At about the same time, a young man in uniform- somewhere in Europe- was learning the same lesson. His name was Ted, and he had worried himself into a first-class case of combat fatigue. He explains- I was utterly exhausted.. I was worried for fear we might be making embarrassing and serious mistakes. I was worried about whether I would come through all this. I was worried whether I would live to hold my only child in my arms- a son of 16 months, whom I had never seen. I was so worried and exhausted that I lost 34 pounds. I was so frantic that I was almost out of my mind. I was terrified at the thought of going home a physical wreck. I broke down and sobbed like a child. I was so shaken that tears welled up every time I was alone.

I ended up in an Army dispensary. An army doctor gave me some advice which has completely changed my life. He informed me that my troubles were mental. He said-

Ted, I want you to think of your life as an hourglass. You know there are thousands of grains of sand in the top the hourglass, and they all pass slowly and evenly through the narrow neck in the middle. Nothing you or I could do would make more than one grain of sand pass through this narrow neck without impairing the hourglass. When we start in the morning, there are hundreds of tasks which we feel that we must accomplish that day, but if we do not take them one at a time and let them pass through the day slowly and evenly, as do the grains of sand passing through narrow neck of hourglass., then we are bound to break our own physical or mental structure.”

One grain of sand at a time….one task at a time. 

From- How to stop worrying ans start living

Leave a Reply

