Self-awareness by Daniel Goleman


There are personal competences and social competencies in DG Emotional Competence framework.


Self-awareness is one of the three elements of Personal Competence. It is knowing one’s internal states, preferences, resources and intuitions. It has three sub-elements.


1-Emotional Awareness (recognizing one’s emotions and their effects)

People with this competence

-know which emotions they are feeling and why

-Realize the links between their feelings and what they think, do and say

-Recognize how their feelings affect their performance

-Have a guiding awareness of their values and goals


2-Accurate Self-assessment (Knowing one’s strengths and limits)

People with this competence are

-Aware of their strengths and weaknesses

-Reflective, learning from experience

-Open to candid feedback, new perspectives, continuous learning, and self-development

-Able to show a sense of humour and perspective about themselves


3- Self-confidence (A strong sense of one’s self-worth  and capabilities)

People with this competence

-Present themselves with self-assurance, have presence.

-Can voice views that are unpopular and go out on a limb for what is right

-Are decisive, able to make sound decisions despite uncertainties and pressures.


From- Working with emotional intelligence


2 responses »

    • Well, to be frank, it’s just collation of three tables from Daniel Goleman’s book. Not original writing in this post. Though I have other original posts in my blog. Author posts are to share with readers what I liked while reading. Thanks for the visit.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s