My teaching hobby

Standard

When I was a kid, all relatives had nick-named me ‘Baba’, and of course the nickname had no positive interpretations. What it meant was that from childhood, I was pedantic, talked big, behaved liked an adult or tried to, and pretended to be know-all.

That habit of mine got transformed into teaching hobby as I grew older.

We had a big joint family and when in summer vacations, cousins from other towns also joined in, we used to play family-family, a role-play, where there was papa, mom, kids, teachers and all that. And there again I always played the role of papa who is a school teacher.

Luckily I was good at studies and among the elder cousins. So I was asked to teach my younger cousins. I loved that part as I could role-play my favourite part. And of course there were perks like being offered drinks, snacks, knick-knacks as small rewards for taking the trouble of teaching. My mom being a teacher might have added to my inclination.

We grew up and joint family disintegrated to nuclear families. But job of yours truly was no affected. As I was now called to homes of uncles in different towns for teaching the kids during vacations. My parents did not mind being a teacher and getting so-called respect as a learned kid. As for me who does not like special treatment, and being away for fun. There were perks too as mom’s friends and neighbours used to send their daughters to our home so that they could learn from me, bah. Lucky me.

My reading hobby helped me a lot in this. I can recall now how my class-teachers used to encourage me to tell stories in free periods. They used to call me chini (Hindi word for Chinese) because of my small eyes and always treated me with love and affection.

Well, I carried on, and when I started working, my first and only love, not attraction (which resulted in marriage) also had contribution of this teaching hobby of mine. Why teaching, before marriage itself, she started dictating terms to me, and poor me ended up writing all her assignments. But really those are sweet memories now as it was a pleasure doing the assignment then.

In our initial days, there was a financial crunch as we got separated from parents, so this teaching hobby came in handy and we made do with additional income I earned through home tutoring in the morning and evening, apart from 9 to 5 job.

 

Shifted to a different company and a different town. There also I used to take classes of supervisors in the company. And I also sunday classes for an open university. There I made good relationships and those people are FB friends now.

Waiting for a sabbatical to be allowed in our company so that I can try out teaching as a full-time job, or else there is always post-retirement option.

Interested anybody!!!

About my2twobits

I am a 40+ male PR executive from India. I have deliberately kept my identity hidden so that I can freely, frankly open my heart and share my feelings about people I know from work and outside. Hope you enjoy the resulting emotional free-flow in my posts. I do fear and dread the day when my identity is disclosed and I may be forced to totally delete this blog, unless of course a publisher comes with an interesting offer ;)

Leave a Reply

