Stress rationing

Standard

 

 

Our mind is really a complex thing. It thinks in its own way. Specially when you are stressed, it does not allow you to come out of its grip. You are stuck in a whirlpool of thoughts and emotions.

 

But when I think objectively, I really feel amazed at the mind-control of CEOs and people in higher positions. Compared to them our tensions and stresses are peanuts. But they keep on acting normally. They don’t let it affect their work, their family life and their parties. Rather I heard one CEO telling someone when he was seen enjoying a party amidst high union tensions- My workforce must not get the impression that I am stressed, this will demotivate them. What a big heart.

 

At such times I feel that god-whether he exists or not-serves as a big big mental and moral support for the people. Specially if they have blind faith and full trust in him. They bargain, negotiate, beg, weep in front of the god and relieve their stress. I am not sure how many can really come out after handing the stress over to god. Not many I think. Because their belief and faith is not 100 per cent pure. They can’t internalize that there might be something good in whatever is happening. I read a few quotes which might help in reaching that state of mind, and I thought I would share here

 

“Just trust that everything is unfolding the way it is supposed to. Don’t resist. Surrender to what is, let go of what was, and have faith in what will be. Great things are waiting for you round the corner.”

 

I know, I know it is easier said than done. So here is one more.

 

“Sometimes when things are falling apart they may actually be falling into place.”

 

Did it help. Well I have been trying to study my stressed out mind and trying out different ways to calm it down.

 

While I remain silent to study and control stress, wife can read that. And she tried to guess the reason of my stress. She said- you are in tension because boss did not take you to programme with her. I did not think on those lines this time. But I know I have behaved that way many times in the past. We have a hindi song for that- Milo na tum toh hum ghabraye, milo toh aankh churaye, meaning, I am anxious if I don’t get to meet you, and I get stressed when I meet you. So we are in confused state most of the time. We are not always sure what we want.

 

By the way one another thing I thought of today for a long continuing problem is to allot some minutes to stress over that every day and then get back to work. Let me see if I can implement that in practice.

Leave a Reply

