Credit for work

Standard

I have seen many seniors and juniors playing all sort of tricks to get credit for work, which they did only partially or just supervised. It feels strange to me. But I know that this would appear normal and justified to people who are credit-grabbers.

My personal view is that if you give credit to your team members whether in front of them or in their absence, the credit indirectly comes to you because if your team is performing well, means you are managing and leading well.
However if I try to give credit to my boss in front of him, it almost always seems like sucking upto him. So I have stopped doing that. Moreover one of my bosses had this habit of praising a junior for a job well done, and when the junior accepted it with grace or with arrogance, boss started criticising him the moment the junior went out. Boss said, “What has he done, all work I did and he is gladly accepting the credit.” I always thought that this must be doing the same to me. So I got doubly cautious with him.
One another thing which has me confused is the relation between my boss and my juniors. As a practice, I encourage them to go to boss and update him on the ongoing jobs. My feeling is that this way they get motivated and feel happy to talk to Head of Department, and also get to know that I am not after credit for jobs they do. But the flip side to this is that at times I get the feeling that boss thinks of me as one arrogant junior who ignores/neglects him and sends juniors to him. Paradox indeed.
One another dilemma I faced many a times is the late-sitting thing. I used to think that late sitting is my choice and the only negative effect is on my family time. However I read an article in HBR that this alienates other colleagues from me, who feel that I am spoiling their image by comparison, since they go out in time. Office-office, what to do.
Let me conclude this post with a quote I read somewhere, always work hard, because comeptition is less here compared to people who want to grab credit.

About my2twobits

I am a 40+ male PR executive from India. I have deliberately kept my identity hidden so that I can freely, frankly open my heart and share my feelings about people I know from work and outside. Hope you enjoy the resulting emotional free-flow in my posts. I do fear and dread the day when my identity is disclosed and I may be forced to totally delete this blog, unless of course a publisher comes with an interesting offer ;)

Leave a Reply

