Assessing juniors

Standard

I always find it very tricky to assess the performance and potential of juniors. In most organisations, we have a standard form with set criteria on which to assess an individual. But then what of the personaility types of the assessee and assessor.

e.g. if I am a person who always wants to hog limelight, I would not like an overambitious junior. But if I like to put ambitious nature of my junior to good use by giving him opportunities to shine, then I won’t mind having such a junior.

If I am a hypocrite and I don’t mind backbiting rather I enjoy it, I won’t see anything bad if a junior behaves the same way because that appears natural to me. However if I am a person who prefers straight talk, then I would not like a double-faced junior much.

If I am non-assertive, I can rate an assertive junior in two ways. Either I like him because he is exact opposite of me and can be complementary in team, or I can hate his guts and rate him lower. It’s all very subjective.
Secondly, I won’t like to rate very low, even my least performing junior because I know that in other departments there are people worse than him who get rated 98-99. So why should my team member suffer. But I can’t rate all my team members 99-100, because then that will be injustice to good performers. It’s all very very confusing.
I remember in my last performance appraisal meeting, one of my juniors told me, you don’t utilize the skills and talent of your juniors fully. And irony is that as and when I give some responsible job to that junior, I end up cleaning up the mess.

He is good attitude wise, rather the best, but when it comes to tasks, he screws up or needs 100 reminders.

Then comes the question of young team members. They have peculiar working styles. They may not work for 4 hours at a stretch, keep doing web surfing in office time, but when it comes to crisis management, or working from home on urgent assignments they don’t bat an eyelid, and get going.How does one assess them.

Then there are those who stick to 9 to 5 deadline most of the time, need their extended lunch breaks, but are so good at whatever they do and so sincere that you tend to ignore their officiousness.

Some however are easy to assess, who prefer to do the least, take maximum possible time to do a job, never-say-no but never-do-it-either types. They will get a straight 95 from me. Rest I will have to juggle between 96 and 99. I am yet to find a perfect 100.

And I am thinking of developing my own assessment sheet based on my needs and requirements. Will share once I do.

Leave a Reply

