Bosses etc.

Standard

Got a call from an ex-boss one day asking for some info. I updated him with what I knew. And lo he starts shouting at me, why don’t you guys do it fast, so many people have been talked to, what else is required. So from a person who is trying to be of help, I become the messenger who is shot. I was furious and replied, “I am responsible for myself.” Deafening silence and he cut the phone. As if. He taught me what little I know of PR writing, but professional relations are professional relations. I can’t keep on reporting to all my ex-bosses all my life and listen to their lectures. Specially in instances, where I am just a conduit and for no fault of mine he is irritated.

Then I have seen bosses, like spouses, whose mood depends on their interaction with their boss. If boss is happy with them, they are happy with their subordinates. If boss shouted at him, he will shout 10 times louder at his team. If his boss gave him 30-minutes’ time, he is king. If his boss made him wait for 2 hours and met for 5 minutes, he will be mad like anything. If his boss praised some peer of his, he will burn with jealousy.

Have worked with bosses who always said, “Can you do this please?” That boss and I knew that it was an order but he made it a pleasure to follow by sounding it as a request. Then there have been bosses who got all the work done through me and then ran, not literally, to top boss’s room and said, “Sir I have done the job.”They never heard of phrases like sharing the credit.

Then there have been bosses who will leave office at 5 pm and expect you to work till late. But there have been bosses who stay back with you and contribute to the assignment.

One boss was so nice that at least two times when we faced serious personal issues, we could ask for his help. And not only him but his wife also went out of the way to solve our problems. One can never forget such people.

There are bosses with whom you can joke and have fun. And there are bosses who will mind even a subtle hint of humour. Some bosses back you up and support you all the way in your decisions, and some back out at the first available opportunity. A leave application of yours will become a thesis for some bosses, and others will simply sign and allow it. Some will rape your draft letter ten times, others will simply make changes once and that’s it. One boss will clear everything in first go and other will wait till the very last moment when no time is left for the work and you will have to work day and night.

Most bosses treat you like human being but then there are some who are devils incarnated and make your life hell.

Have heard people say that whatever bosses do is for your good. But I have my doubts. What actually happens is in their effort to show their best, they unknowingly let you learn something.

Enough of my bs on bosses for today. Rest some other day.

About my2twobits

I am a 40+ male PR executive from India. I have deliberately kept my identity hidden so that I can freely, frankly open my heart and share my feelings about people I know from work and outside. Hope you enjoy the resulting emotional free-flow in my posts. I do fear and dread the day when my identity is disclosed and I may be forced to totally delete this blog, unless of course a publisher comes with an interesting offer ;)

One response »

  1. Pingback: MY BOSS | TIPS

Leave a Reply

