Humour at Work

Standard

Humour keeps you going, at work or at home.

Some instances happen by chance, which remain in your memories for long.

Typos in office are always a great sense of humour. We in PR Department get tenders published in newspapers for purchase or sale of items. One such tender was going for publication and at the very last moment it came to me for final look, and what I noticed was the tender for sale of TMT BARS was going to newspapers, with the two middle letters of the word BARS interchanged because of a typo. Thank god we noticed it there otherwise next day would have entirely changed the line of business of our company, with an entirely unique product.

Another typo was in the same vein. We had a national level seminar and I was coordinating with the Emcee / Compere for the final script. After various rounds of emailing, when the script was to be given final go-ahead, I noticed that in the phrase public sector undertaking, she had forgotten the letter-L in the word PUBLIC. We had a good hearty laughter imagining what would have happened if she had actually read that script.

At times, humour is at your cost. One such example is when I and a lady colleague were sitting with our boss. I was trying to make fun of the colleague, and just to make things clear, I said I was just pulling your legs. And our ever-intelligent, ever-smartass boss remarked in front of her- You were really pulling her legs, because I did not see you do that, I thought you were pulling her leg. He was correcting my usage of the idiom, of not using legs but leg. However his visual description embaraased the lady colleague a lot.

Same show-off boss once shouted at me in front of many colleagues. I went to him later and said, you praise in public and reprimand in private is a basic management principle. So please follow that. Next time when he wanted to shout again, he came to the hall and told me in front of others-Come to my room, I need to take you to task, and you don’t want me to shout at you in front of others. So the treatment proved to be worse than the disease. How considerate.

While working in an insurance company branch, I was also appearing for my Masters exams. There were four papers and tests were every alternate day. After taking a test in the first half, I went to office in 2nd half. Branch Manager called me and asked how did the test go. I said fine. Then he advised that I should have rested, so that next day I can prepare well for the other test. And he could not control his laughter when I replied nonchalantly, “That is why I have come to office Sir.”

Recently our office is undergoing renovation, and plan is to assign new cubicles to all. Hinting at my heavy weight, I joked in front of our boss that cubicle size should be as per weight of the employee, so I should get a bigger cubicle. Not to be left behind, she replied tongue-in-cheek that it should be the other way round, so that you guys are encouraged to lose weight. Boss is boss.

By the way, did I tell you that a few months after my joining PR Department, a little girl called and asked- Uncle, is it PR Department. To my yes- she responded, there is a dead dog lying in front of our house. Can you please get it removed. What a morale-booster that was about image of our department.

 

About my2twobits

I am a 40+ male PR executive from India. I have deliberately kept my identity hidden so that I can freely, frankly open my heart and share my feelings about people I know from work and outside. Hope you enjoy the resulting emotional free-flow in my posts. I do fear and dread the day when my identity is disclosed and I may be forced to totally delete this blog, unless of course a publisher comes with an interesting offer ;)

Leave a Reply

