Demotivation

Standard

Today I was wondering on the question- what demotivates me at work. And I thought of jotting it down.

One of my bosses had this habit of making me sit late for office work. Whereas he himself left before me most of the times. Even that is okay. What hurt me was that he did not even say bye or acknowledge my presence while going out.

Then another boss had this habit of making us vacate working centre, as he had to use the computer, scanner etc. So his work always got priority. And the same boss would later ask why our jobs are not completed in time, forgetting that he was the major reason.

Then there are credit-grabber bosses. Even if they have not done a little bit of an assignment, once it’s completed they will go rushing to big boss and claim that they have accomplished the job.

Another boss had this habit of bitching about me and my shortcomings as a manager (as perceived by him) in front of senior and juniors. But that person with no pair, it seems, never told me or confronted me about those things. As a boss, he had every right to point these out to me so that I could improve myself. But he never did so.

When my role or reporting relationship is changed without assigning any reason. I do agree that bosses are well within their right to do so. But I feel disheartened that no one bothered to tell me why my role has been changed or why my team strength has been reduced.

When boss asks me to sit late to give him company, even if there is no work. Just because boss has to sit till big boss is in office, he expects me to stay back to give him company.

When other person a re sent for important training courses, and I am left out.

When I tell anything personal to boss in confidence, and he misuses it to his advantage or shares it with others.

When a mistake happens in which many people are responsible. But just because I am less noisy, amenable and respectful, I am blamed for everything that went wrong. Boss instead of taking an objective decision finds it easier to put the entire blame on me. He will totally shirk off his responsibility. What leader. On one occasion, my boss asked me to draft a warning letter to be issued to me. Height of insensitivity.

When boss keeps on criticizing other colleagues in front of me, but when it comes to their promotion or rewards, he goes out of the way to ensure that they get it. This hypocrisy I hate and it demotivates me.

When boss expects me to do his or big boss’s personal errands. That really makes me very angry.

When I see people who work less and suck up more getting rewarded and promoted faster.

Will keep on updating this list from time to time.

About my2twobits

I am a 40+ male PR executive from India. I have deliberately kept my identity hidden so that I can freely, frankly open my heart and share my feelings about people I know from work and outside. Hope you enjoy the resulting emotional free-flow in my posts. I do fear and dread the day when my identity is disclosed and I may be forced to totally delete this blog, unless of course a publisher comes with an interesting offer ;)

Leave a Reply

