Media Visit

Standard

MEDIA MANAGEMENT HAS ITS PERKS AND ITS PITFALLS. AS IS THE CASE
WITH MOST OF PR FUNCTIONS, BY THEIR VERY NATURE, YOU GET
BETTER VISIBILITY BUT THEN FOR THE SAME REASON YOUR SMALLEST
ERROR GETS MAGNIFIED 100 TIMES. SO IT IS A TIGHTROPE WALK
LITERALLY.
ONE INCIDENT THAT COMES TO MY MIND WAS THE VISIT OF A CABINET MINISTER TO OUR COMPANY LONG LONG BACK IN A PREVIOUS ORGANISATION. HE CAME IN A CHARTERED PLANE  AND WAS ACCOMPANIED BY A TV CHANNEL CREW. I WAS ASSIGNED THE TASK OF THE TV CREW, THAT IS I WAS ATTACHED TO THEM FOR THEIR WHOLE STAY. MOREOVER CEO OFFICE INSTRUCTED ME THAT ONE PARTICULAR GROUP OF PEOPLE MUST NOT MEET THE MEDIA CREW.
THOUGH THAT GROUP WAS HELLBENT ON MEETING THE TV TEAM AND GIVING AN INTERVIEW. TV GUYS WERE ALSO INTERESTED IN THAT INTERVIEW. SO I WAS IN SOUP FROM THE WORD GO.
ANIWAYS SINCE THE TV CREW WAS FROM DELHI AND MY NATIVE PLACE IN NCR, WE
DEVELOPED A BOND IN THAT SHORT DURATION. AND AS IT WERE, THE TV PEOPLE ENDED UP INTERVIEWING THAT GROUP. I WAS AROUND, BUT I COULD NOT ASK THEM NOT TO DO THE INTERVIEW. AFTER ALL THE TEAM HAD COME FROM DELHI WITH MINISTER IN THE PLANE.
I KNEW I WAS IN BIG TROUBLE. I WAS CALLED BY CEO OFFICE AND TAKEN TO TASK. I SHEEPISHLY TRIED TO PUT MY SITUATION ACROSS, BUT WAS SNUBBED. THEN I WAS ASKED IF I WAS AROUND DURING THAT INTERVIEW, AND WHEN I SAID YES, I WAS INSTRUCTED TO REPEAT THE INTERVIEW VERBATIM. I DID MY BEST. THEN CAME THE INSTRUCTION THAT TRY TO STOP THE INTERVIEW FROM BEING TELECAST.
THAT WAS ANOTHER GOOGLY. HOW DO I BRING UP THE SUBJECT WITH THE TV GUYS. THEY WERE THOROUGH PROFESSIONALS AND I KNEW THEY WON’T LIKE MY INTERFERENCE IN THEIR JOB. WELL I SUMMARISED MY PREDICAMENT MENTIONING THAT THE INTERVIEW IS BEING SEEN AS MY FAILURE.
LUCKY FOR ME, THEY EMPATHISD AND ASSURED ME THAT THEY WON’T LET IT IMPACT ME IN ANY WAY. AND THEY WOULD SEE TO IT THAT THE BYTE IS TONED DOWN. THEY EVEN ASSURED ME THAT IF STILL THERE IS A PROBLEM, THEY WOULD TAKE UP THE MATTER WITH THE RIGHT PERSONS.
REASONABLY ASSURED, I BRIEFED THE CEO OFFICE AND THEY ADOPTED A WAIT-AND-WATCH STANCE. SO WITH CROSSED FINGERS I KEPT A TAB ON THE NEWS CLIP BEING TELECAST ON THAT CHANNEL. FINALLY BECAUSE OF TIME CONSTRAINT, THE INTERVIEW WITH THE GROUP WAS NOT AIRED, AND I BREATHED A SIGH OF RELIEF.
I CAN’T EVER FORGET THE NICE AND FRANK TV GUYS WHO CAME TO MY RESCUE AT THE RIGHT TIME. AND TO TOP IT ALL, THEY DID NOT ACCEPT ANY GIFT FROM THE ORGANISATION, WHICH IS CUSTOMARY. THERE ARE GENUINE AND REAL JOURNALISTS AROUND STILL. SALUTE TO THEM.
BY THE WAY, DID I TELL YOU MY PROMOTION WAS DUE 3 DAYS LATER. BUT THANK GOD, THE MANAGEMENT WAS OBJECTIVE, AND DID NOT LET THE HALO-EFFECT OF THIS RECENT INCIDENT AFFECT MY PROMOTION. OR MAYBE THEY UNDERSTOOD THAT I WAS NOT AT FAULT. WHATEVER BE THE CASE, THE PROMOTION RESTORED MY FAITH IN TOP MANAGEMENT AND THE SYSTEMS.

Leave a Reply

